Long Hair Revolution (長毛革命) – Full length documentary

2009 Update: I am really happy to announce Long Hair Revolution (長毛革命), my first documentary, has been added to the federal government “Library and Archives Canada” permanent collection in Ottawa (click here for more info).

***

Long Hair (Leung Kwok-hung) on the phone (which is almost always)

Long Hair Revolution (長毛革命) (71 minutes, 2005) (imdb) was my first documentary and you can watch it  right on YouTube. In the film, I tried to “find” and understand the activist Leung Kwok-hung (nickname “Long Hair”) behind his Hong Kong Legislative Council member and rebel persona. I am honoured that my first attempt in filmmaking was accepted by the 2005 Calgary International Film Festival and I also received some post-production funding from the wonderful Academy Awards winning National Film Board of Canada.

I hope you will enjoy Long Hair Revolution (長毛革命) on YouTube.

22 Responses to Long Hair Revolution (長毛革命) – Full length documentary

  1. Angie says:

    I saw him on campus yesterday. If wasn’t for the video, I would not know who he was. Thank u!

    BTW, I LOVE Gilmore Girls, too!
    *******
    Hi Angie,

    Which campus are you referring to ? On that note, which country are you in?

    By the way, if you enjoy the Long Hair documentary, please let your friends and classmates know about it.

    Yeah, Gilmore Girls is one of my most beloved TV show. Great stuff. I will miss them so very much if and when the series ends. I love all of the main characters and most of the other characters as well.

    Cheers,
    Kempton

  2. […] and calm up close and in person. Just like my experience with Long Hair (Leung Kwok-hung, see my documentary about Long Hair), I strongly feel both have the ability to think and reason clearly and logically far away from the […]

  3. […] I met Joe in the 2005 Calgary International Film Festival when my film Long Hair Revolution was screened. And he has been very helpful and kind to me since. Honestly, I think Joe’s […]

  4. […] I haven’t changed this sequence since I created it for my first documentary “Long Hair Revolution” which was aired in 2005 in Calgary International Film […]

  5. […] 1st Update: My old documentary subject Long Hair (Leung Kwok-hung) in AP news “Feisty Hong Kong Lawmaker Provokes China” via […]

  6. […] Snake Tail – Daisann’s blog is always a great read to know more about Hong Kong politics, Long Hair, and learn a little bit of Chinese every […]

  7. Terence says:

    I m from Malaysia. I love my country, but there are a lot of unfairness there. I hope someone or even you Kempton, would do a documentary about Malaysia’s government. The biggest problem in Malaysia is race is always the issue but, IT IS NOT. All we want is a fair law and bring equality to everyone.

    I will no go to detail but kudos to “Long Hair”…
    AND Kempton..

  8. kempton says:

    Hi Terence,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. I don’t know the people, culture, and politics of Malaysia well enough at the moment to do a documentary.

    Now, why don’t you give it a shot and make a documentary (or a short documentary) about the Malaysia that you love and know (the goods and the bads).

    The cameras are cheap and software are very reasonably priced (I recommend Final Cut Pro). Now, if you can’t afford FCP, simply go with iMovie, never let anything (including the tools) stop you from making films.

    Good luck,
    Kempton

  9. Terence says:

    Nice to hear from u Kempton. I love this documentrary very much and i admire Long Hair a lot too. Long hair’s revolution has really give me hope about freedom in my country. I m chinese by the way. Malaysia is very different from Hong Kong. In Hong Kong, Chinese is the majority but in Malaysia Malay is majority, there are also Indians. If the chinese or indian oppose the governmet (which are mostly Malay) they will say we are racist. Nothing is worst than a race between war. But on the other hand, the minorities are marginalised. It doesn’t matter who the becomes the leader, all we are hoping is more equality. But to bad i m now on America pursuing my degree. Even if i m in Malaysia, i do not have the experience of doing a documentary.

    Then again, thank you Kempton.

    PS: If u see see Long Hair again, send my regards. Malaysia say hi to Long Hair.

  10. kempton says:

    Hi Terence,

    Long Hair is a very special man. It is with his dogged devotion and determination that he managed to do things that many others had considered impossible.

    There are many minorities being marginalized in the world and it is not an easy task to convince the majority to treat the less powerful group with equal respect but try you should. Try you should.

    Watch the RTHK program Defending Justice in China – part 1 and 2 if you can find sometime. These Chinese lawyers were doing the impossible and, at times, risking their personal safety to do so. I admire them very much.

    In a sense, do what you can, and within the law and try to change the system from within, one small step at a time.

    Will pass along your hello next time I go to Hong Kong and see him.

    Best of luck to your studies and the situation in Malaysia.

    Kempton

  11. Terence says:

    Thank You very much Kempton…
    I will take your advice…

    Hope you can make more documentary about Long Hair…

  12. […] felt like yesterday (when in fact it was 2004-2005) that I made my documentary – Long Hair Revolution in the beginning of Long Hair’s LEGCO term. The doc is 71 minutes long. […]

  13. […] made a documentary about Long Hair in 2005 and I’ve posted it on Google Video. […]

  14. […] have worked on various business consulting engagements, blogged extensively (2,000 of them), made a film festival screened documentary, and creating and posting various online content (including interviews with a wide range of people […]

  15. […] 當年我拍攝完成長毛革命要多謝 NFB (加拿大國家電影局, National Film Board of […]

  16. […] I am deeply honoured to share with you the news that “Long Hair Revolution”, my documentary about the rebel Hong Kong politician Long Hair,  is now part of the LAC […]

  17. […] and Archives Canada) 我很高興與大家分享長毛革命被加拿大國史及圖書館(Library and Archives Canada)收藏的消息。 Library and Archives […]

  18. miss says:

    Hi Kempton,
    I came from 周游。列國’s blog and surprised to find out that you are the film maker of this documentary!
    Once my husband found this documentary in google and introduced this documentary to me and we watched it together. We enjoyed it much as it reveals more about Mr Long Hair to the public. Thanks for the video! Good day!

  19. kempton says:

    miss,

    Good to see readers of 周游 dropping by to say hi.

    I wanted people to understand Long Hair for more than his public persona and I am glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed Long Hair Revolution and found you learned a little bit more about Long Hair from my film.

    I am quite proud to say the film is now part of the Library and Archives Canada collection in Ottawa,

    “Long Hair Revolution” (長毛革命) selected to be part of Library and Archives Canada collection

  20. […] 兩周一聚(三十五):無盡鄉間路 幾年前拍攝”長毛革命“時,有一次跟了長毛跑了一整天。看的不是城市中的事物,而是鄉村耕田種植的生活。要處理的問題應該是農業用地附近有工業廢料污染水源。當時看見香港(“新界”)還有農地,是覺得有點意外驚奇的。小時候的不算,那是我近年來唯一一次在香港體驗到鄉村耕田種植的生活。 […]

  21. […] I will always treasure he and his programming team’s decision in picking my documentary “Long Hair Revolution” to be screened in the 2005 Calgary International Film Festival. The 2005 CIFF screening lead to […]

  22. […] rights sounds cool to the very biased me: Kempton’s first feature-length documentary Long Hair Revolution (2005) is preserved in Library and Archives Canada‘s permanent collection “for the benefit […]