Lisa Kudrow (Friends, Web Therapy) and Kristin Kreuk (Smallville) working their magic @ Banff World Media Festival 2011

Lisa Kudrow & meKristin Kreuk & me (Kempton)

To me, successful television actors have their “signature” series, TV series that they are best known for. For the beautiful & lovely Lisa Kudrow and Kristin Kreuk, they are best known for their TV series Friends and Smallville respectively.

It was my pleasure to meet and listen to Lisa in Banff 2011 to receive a digital media award and to attend an “in conversation” session to chat and to talk about her online (and now TV) series Web Therapy (make sure you check out the the Meryl Streep episode). [Kempton’s note: I will report more on Lisa‘s session with video clips later. Stay tune.]

I was also delighted to meet Kristin by chance as I am a big fan of Smallville. I was “brave” enough to ask for a photo. Unfortunately, wearing my “fanboy” hat also meant that I totally forgot to do my job to interview Kristin (even briefly) to ask her to talk about her new projects and whats her experience in attending Banff 2011. I saw Kristin briefly when she attended Lisa‘s “in conversation” session but, I guess to avoid fanboys like me, Kristin came right before the session started and left before Q&As ended. [Kempton Jun 22nd update: I’ve confirmed and reached out to Kristin‘s representing agency Pacific Artists and hope to hear from her agent Mr. Russ Mortensen soon. [June 27 Update: Unfortunately, I won’t have any new details to report, see comments below for details. Regardless, I want to thank Alison of UBCP for finding me the correct representing agency.]

Concluding Thoughts

It must be wonderful to work in successful TV series like Friends and Smallville, at the same time, I believe it also makes it challenging for the audiences to focus on the actors’ latest creative ventures/achievements. To prepare for my Banff report, I watched a few episodes of Web Therapy and I am loving them and will watch more. So it surprised me a little to see almost all of the Q&As for Lisa after the “In Conversation” session were about Friends and her role as Phoebe Buffay which Lisa was happy and gracious in answering. I just wished that a few more questions about Web Therapy (a wonderful new show).

If I may be bold to say, seeing industry legend Ed Asner still doing wonderful work in his 80s should inspire all creative people (stars, behind the camera creatives, etc) that it is possible to keep doing wonderful & creative work so each new generations of audiences may remember you by something different. For me, I am too young to watch/remember Ed‘s great work in The Mary Tyler Moore Show as Lou Grant but I love Ed in his more recent works like Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip and Up, etc.

Looking at Ed, I know there is hope for us all! :) [Kempton: I will have more coverage and video clips of Ed. Stay tune. And I mean it when I told Ed that I will consider my life a success if I can achieve 1/100th of what he has achieved. What an inspiring man and legend! And it is so kind for Ed to say “you are well on your way!” I just need to make sure I work very hard and live very long! :) ]

Me with Ed Asner, TV & film industries legend

6 Responses to Lisa Kudrow (Friends, Web Therapy) and Kristin Kreuk (Smallville) working their magic @ Banff World Media Festival 2011

  1. Artie says:

    Can you ask what kristin kreuk`s next movie is?

  2. kempton says:

    Artie,

    If I can find Kristin’s agent to do a quick followup interview, I will sure ask the question and see what the agent will say.

  3. Ted says:

    @kempton

    Kristin`s agent : David Guillod or Stephanie Comer
    United Talent Agency
    9560 Wilshire Boulevard
    Suite 500
    Beverly Hills, CA 90212
    Phone: 310-273-6700

    [Kempton’s note: Ted, I just confirmed with United Talent Agency. Unfortunately they don’t represent Kristin anymore. And they don’t have any forwarding information. I will see what more can I find.]

  4. kempton says:

    Thanks Ted. I will confirm with United Talent Agency and hope to have more to add.

    [Update: – Kempton’s note: Ted, I just confirmed with United Talent Agency. Unfortunately they don’t represent Kristin anymore. And they don’t have any forwarding information. I will see what more can I find.]

  5. kempton says:

    Kempton Jun 22nd update: I’ve confirmed and reached out to Kristin’s representing agency Pacific Artists Management Ic. and hope to hear from her agent Mr. Russ Mortensen soon. (Special thanks to Alison of UBCP for finding me the right representing agency.)

  6. kempton says:

    June 27 update: After multiple calls & voice mails to Kristin’s agent Russ Mortensen (Pacific Artists Management Inc.) and messages left for Russ’ colleague to pass on to him, I was unable to get any response. So after 5 days of repeated effort, I am sorry to report I won’t have any new details to add. It is unfortunate that the agency wasn’t too helpful nor courteous enough to send a brief email reply or return a call.