Happy 65th Birthday Vint Cerf (Father of Internet)

To celebrate the 65th birthday of Vint Cerf (Father of the Internet), I re-read a few pages of my copy of the 1996 Hafner and Lyon classic “Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet“. While I am in awe of Vint’s great accomplishments, re-reading the fews pages (here, here, here, and here) reminded me of the extra challenges Vint must have gone through. What a great man.

Vint, without your work on ARPANet/internet, I don’t know how would I have spent my time productively, goodly, badly, politically, or naughtily. (smile)

Happy birthday/weekend, Vint. Wishing you many happy and healthy years to come.

P.S. Here is a link to a 2007 video of Vint giving a Google Talk.

*******

22:45 MST Update: I sent Vint an email birthday wish and got a wonderful reply from him that I want to share with you. And I hope Vint doesn’t mind. (emphasis added by me)

“many thanks for an unexpected good wish! Much appreciated – I’ve enjoyed the last 35 years of work on the Internet, not least because everybody keeps coming up with new ways to use it :-)

vint”

Thanks Vint for building such a wonderful and powerful sandbox for us to play in.

Comments are closed.