Canceling CBC Search Engine – Extinguishing a Torch in our Digital Democracy

Just heard that CBC has decided to cancel the award-winning Search Engine. To me, a show like Search Engine is so important in shinning light on issues important in our digital age. Have a listen of this week’s show of Jesse interviewing Minister Prentice about the Canadian DMCA (Bill C-61) (mp3 file).

It is shows like Search Engine (I think this is the only show in Canada of this type) that shines light on issues vital to the prosperity of Canadians in the digital age. This may sound a bit too poetic but I do think canceling CBC Search Engine is like extinguishing a bright torch in our digital democracy. If we want Canadians to stay informed and be engaged in well-reasoned debate, we can’t afford to see shows like Search Engine, an intensely focused source of information, be canceled.

*******

I think we can help in the following manner.

We can start by calling CBC Audience Relations at
Toll-free phone (Canada only): 1-866-306-4636

and tell them what Search Engine means to you and how much you love (or hate (smile)) the show. Ask the operate to enter your comments into the system for the record.

And after talking to Audience Relations, we can call the same toll-free number again and press “0” to get the operator and ask to speak to Chris Boyce – Executive Director of Programming (Radio)

I spoke with Chris for 5+ minutes telling him why and what I love about Search Engine and how important the show is in shining a light on digital issues relevant to our democratic rights and processes. Chris was very nice and listen to what I have to say.

If enough of us tell CBC we love the show and want the show back, I think they will try to find a way to work the budget to bring us back this award winning show.

You can find mailing address and a web form here, http://www.cbc.ca/contact/

P.S. If someone will create a group to bring back Search Engine, I will be the first to join.

P.P.S. While I understand Chris’ explanation that it is good to have Jesse reporting in more prominent shows like “The Current”, “Sunday Report”, and I added may be even “The National”, I feel that the “Search Engine” team serves as a great focus to bring us issues important in the digital age. The team can constantly scanning and reporting important digital issues to us as they have digital stuff as their prime focus. Whereas the above more prominent shows may have more in-depth pieces or coverage once in a while only.

*******

20th June, 2008 Update: Someone has started a Saving CBC’s Search Engine Facebook group. I’ve joined and become a member and hope this will help CBC change its mind to bring back Search Engine for a season 2. Good luck to us all.

21st June 2008 Update: Here is my short video trying to save CBC Search Engine.

10 Responses to Canceling CBC Search Engine – Extinguishing a Torch in our Digital Democracy

  1. […] blogger in Calgary has great ideas on how to make sure this show stays alive. Here’s a great quote from his […]

  2. AC says:

    Thanks for this… Let’s all do our part to bring Search Engine back!

  3. kempton says:

    Thanks LibrarianActivist.
    Thanks AC.

    Enough of ue all do our small parts will hopefully get CBC to change its mind. After all, Search Engine is too good a show to let go without a hard fight.

    Regards,
    Kempton

  4. […] Here is my video trying to save CBC’s Search Engine, a show that I love and blogged about here. […]

  5. anon says:

    Prentice on Search Engine: remixed!!!!!

    [audio src="http://stashbox.org/143973/prenticemix.mp3" /]

  6. kempton says:

    A really nicely done remix. Good job. I hope you’ve posted it on Search Engine’s and Saving Search Engine’s Facebook group. Great stuff.

  7. Nick says:

    Yes, it doesn’t feel like much, but every little bit helps I suppose. My new little blog where I wrote about what a bad decision this was doesn’t have earth-shattering impact, but I’ve sent it on to others. Hopefully we can get a good groundswell and people realize the loyal audience is not happy.

  8. kempton says:

    Thanks Nick. Every little bit of effort helps. Thats why I blog here and make my video, etc. Hopefully CBC will change its mind.

    P.S. Good luck and have fun at your blog. It is fun to have a blog to express our views on things.

  9. kempton says:

    Max,

    Thanks for sharing your comments even I think your harsh words are a bit over the top.

    I think we have to ground any form of debates or discussions in some measures of respect. Without a measure of respect and politeness from both sides, things can easily turn into personal insults and all the valid points of discussions and debates from both sides will quickly disintegrated and sidetracked.

    Regards,
    Kempton

  10. […] trying to save CBC radio’s Search Engine over the summer, the show is now back for season 2 as a podcast. OK, I wish the show can be a […]