#Dune 2021 Goodies – Watched & Love it on #IMAX – New #QuoteILove

Jan 19, 2022 Update: Legendary & WarAdd video of “Dolby – Director Denis Villeneuve and Sound Team on Dune | Sound + Image Lab

Oct 26, 2021 Update: #GreatNews Legendary & Warner Bros are officially moving forward with Dune: Part Two (THR) (FB)! [HT Seastar]

****

Watched Dune on IMAX during opening weekend. What an amazing film and world that Canadian director Denis Villeneuve has created! Following is a collection of Dune Goodies that I watched/read (many with #SPOILERS so considered yourself warned), enjoyed, and tried to learn from. I will start with Denis breaks down the Gom Jabbar scene and this cool quote I love by Denis that I’m adding it to my collection of Quotes I Love,

“For the first time, I think I did this movie for a single audience member, which is me. I read the book 40 years ago. I deeply fall, felt in love with it. I was aware that there are millions of hardcore fan of the book out there, but I took up in my shoulder to deal with the one that I was the most afraid of, which is me. I was a teenager. That was a totalitarian dreamer. I was arrogant. I was pretentious. I had big dreams. It was kind of frightening for me. And I will say that the truth is as any movies, it’s movies are made of victories and failures. There’s some moments in Dune that I knew I was not good enough. There’s others that I feel that it was very close to the original dream. And the Gom Jabbar scene is definitely one that I knew that at 14 years old, I will have been okay with that.” – Denis Villeneuve

(17 mins) Oct 22, 2021 ‘Dune’ Director Denis Villeneuve Breaks Down the Gom Jabbar Scene | Vanity Fair

(33 mins) Q on CBC, “Dune director Denis Villeneuve on adapting Frank Herbert’s notoriously unfilmable sci-fi epic

(12 mins) BBC Radio 1 , ““Amazing actor, amazing” Director Denis Villeneuve on Timothée Chalamet, Dune & cinema’s importance.

(23 mins) Denis Villeneuve and Hans Zimmer on Dune | NYFF59 (Film at Lincoln Center)

(29 mins) BFI At Home | Dune Q&A with Denis Villeneuve (“One day somebody else will make a new adaptation.” was what Denis felt after watching David Lynch’s adaption.)

xxxx

Articles

Sept 4, 2021, TorStar, “A lot of people warned Denis Villeneuve not to make ‘Dune’ — he refused to be deterred and this is why

“I read the book when I was around 13 or 14 years old,” Villeneuve says, smiling at the memory. “I wanted to make movies back then. I remember drawing with my best friend, Nicolas Kadima … We were drawing storyboards, drawing costume designs, dreaming about making (‘Dune’) all this time.”

Oct 22, 2021, NYT, “The Man Who Finally Made a ‘Dune’ That Fans Will Love How Denis Villeneuve broke the curse.

“Josh Brolin, who plays the warrior-minstrel Gurney Halleck in the movie, took a lifelong “Dune”-fan friend to a screening in New York, and at the end of the movie the friend started screaming: “That was it! That was it! That’s what I saw! That’s what I saw when I was a kid!””

“Villeneuve’s insistence on filming in real-world environments was shaped by his early work as a documentarian. In the early 1990s he traveled to Ellesmere Island as part of a small unit with the Québécois filmmaker Pierre Perrault to shoot a poetic natural history documentary, called “Cornouailles,” about musk oxen defending their tundra territories. [K note: Stream the doc Cornouailles (French only, no English sub?) for free at NFB.] “It’s about French Canadians and America,” he told me, wryly. He was there to bring the tripods and make the soup, but the experience was transformative. “I saw things there,” he said, “that I will never see again in my life. And that I will never experience again. To walk inside a glacier, things that are difficult to describe — but it was like being on another planet.” Like the desert, the tundra had a deep psychological impact on him, instilling a sense of humility, the feeling that he was “seeing the earth without any skin. It’s like you are at the core, you are in contact with time … with infinity and time.”

The “Cornouailles” shoot taught Villeneuve to embrace the exigencies of a real-life location where “every day the landscape in front of you is totally different, according to light and the nature of the elements” — and in a more existential sense, the tundra revealed to him how small and insignificant we are, an experience familiar to many of those involved with “Dune.””

2021 Nov 6th update: (fascinating) Why is Dune’s Score Like That?

2021 Dec 21 Update: James Cameron & Denis Villeneuve on ‘Avatar’, ‘Dune’, and Pioneering CGI | Directors on Directors

2022 Jan 19 Update: “Dolby – Director Denis Villeneuve and Sound Team on Dune | Sound + Image Lab

xxxx

Comments are closed.