The Boston Globe Spotlight Team & My Hope for FactWire

Spotlight the movie, about The Boston Globe investigative news team Spotlight team, was announced as one of the Oscar nominated best pictures this morning. I have yet to watch Spotlight and I look forward to watching it sometime. Worth checking out how The Boston Globe covered/reviewed the movie. :) (e.g. “Superb ‘Spotlight’ doesn’t turn journalists into heroes“, “How the ‘Spotlight’ movie got made“, etc)

Fairly or unfairly, I am setting the 45+ years old Spotlight team as benchmark for FactWire News Agency 傳真社, a brand new (not yet in operation) Hong Kong based crowdfunded investigative news agency. FactWire just announced it has finished its hiring process yesterday.

In life, I try to benchmark against some of the best examples (as far as I know) around the world as aiming high and falling short is better than aiming low and exceeding the target. Mr. Ng Hiu-tung 吳曉東, CEO of FactWire, is well aware of the expectations people/funders have on him so I don’t think I am adding any extra pressure here. I hope FactWire will bring us insightful, comprehensive, and fully linked/referenced (with original source documents (watch this Q&A)) investigative reports in the coming months and years. I also hope FactWire can work out its business model so it can become a financially sustainable business.

Disclosure: Like many people who helped with FactWire’s crowdfunding project, I made a tiny immaterial contribution as I believe Ai Weiwei‘s saying of “A small act is worth a million thoughts“.

Here are some very insightful video clips. Starting with this Globe produced clip entitled The Boston Globe Spotlight Team (~12 mins)

DP/30 @ TIFF: Spotlight, The Real-Life Journalists (~31 mins)

KEYNOTE: A Hollywood ‘Spotlight’ On Award-Winning Boston Globe Investigation (~47 mins)

Michael Keaton Discusses ‘Spotlight’ | The New York Times (~2 mins)

Boston Globe Investigative Journalists: Question Authority (~1 min)

PBS, Journalists put ‘Spotlight’ on church sex abuse in new movie (~6 mins)

2016 Jan 20 Update: “Spotlight: ‘How I made the least fashionable film ever’

2016 Feb 28 Update: Yeah, Spotlight won Oscar Best Film tonight! CNN Money news video “How ‘Spotlight’ is a ‘shot in the arm’“.  And I found this 35 minutes film, worth a watch. DP/30 @ TIFF: Spotlight, Tom McCarthy

Comments are closed.

