Thank You HKTV10

HKTV10-book-back-cover

HKTV10-book-back-cover

Dear Danny, 敏, 可兒, 芝, Ken, 揚, Jill, 蜜瓜, 蔡, Joe (留守十子 HKTV10, in alphabetical order by last name),

Thank you all so much! In October 2013, I saw you guys for the first time at Civic Square, HKSAR Government and said that I would like to interview you all and potentially make a documentary about what you guys were going through with the HKTV protest, etc. Time flies, it is now 19 months later in May 2015 and after working on the documentary on and off during this time, I am finally “finished” with my documentary “HKtv Revolution”. I’ve started the process of submitting it to film festivals for their consideration. The film is far from perfect (or even “good”) but I’ve tried my best given the limited resources I have and I will see what happen with the film.

I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your kind help and your time for the first weeks since October 2013 and then the months and months following those faithful days in October 2013 when you said yes to this stranger. In total, we have done hours and hours of interviews, some in-person, and some over Skype video. Interviews between Calgary, and Hong Kong, Japan and even Australia! All of these chat helped me better understand the issues and shape the film even many precious footage couldn’t fit my 1 hour 9 minutes long documentary.

While I am too biased to judge, I hope “HKtv Revolution” tells an illuminating story on an important page of history in Hong Kong.

In closing, I would like to share one of my favourite quotes I love with you all. We often like others to do something for us or fight for something for us, but you guys actually stood up and tried to do something for us all, and to try to change things for the better.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

Many Thanks and keep in touch,
Kempton

P.S. As some of us are “Facebook friends”, I feel like I have slowly get to know you guys a little bit more over the last 19 months. And I hope you see me as “Facebook friends” too and may be some days, some more years down the road, you will see me as “friends” and then friends without the double quotes. :)

P.P.S. Your book “政總留守抗爭日記” is great! I hope you are ok with me using your book’s back cover here for me to let you all quickly say something and it looks nice with a picture of you all!

Comments are closed.

