Taken 2 & Frankenweenie – Are they any good?

taken 2 - Frankenweenie

Taken 2 and Frankenweenie are two of the movies opening in Calgary theatres today. So are they any good? In a weekly Fox LA hangout with Rotten Tomatoes’ Editor-in-Chief Matt Atchity, I got some insight from Matt and will share with you here.

*** Taken 2 ***

Many people, this reporter included, LOVE the great action thriller Taken (2008) starring Liam Neeson, Maggie Grace and Famke Janssen. In the first Taken, “Neeson plays a former Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) operative who sets about tracking down his daughter after she is kidnapped by human traffickers while traveling in France.” To me, Liam Neeson is a great dramatic actor but I had never been him so ass-kicking and believable as a lean-mean-killing-machine before Taken. So naturally, I’ve been eagerly waiting for Taken 2 over the years since I watched Taken the DVD borrowed from Calgary Public Library. Unfortunately, I’m quite disappointed to see a 17% Rotten rating (88 Rotten out of 104 reviews so far) for Taken 2. Yikes! Rotten Tomatoes’ Editor-in-Chief Matt Atchity described Taken 2 as weak. We all had a good laugh when Matt mentioned someone had fun with the title of Taken 2 and changing it to “Look Who’s Taken 2″, I presume, reference the unfunny comedy “Look Who’s Talking“.

So set your expectation of Taken 2 really really low if you have to watch it. And do share what you think about it. Leave a comment. Given what I heard and read now, I think I would rather re-watch Taken if I want to see Neeson kick-ass.

*** Frankenweenie ***

Frankenweenie has a 84% Fresh Rotten Tomatoes rating (76 fresh out of 91 reviews). The film is an extended version of a short film by Tim Burton years ago. Rotten Tomatoes’ Matt thinks the stop motion is really well done. While Matt really likes the film but he suggested may be the film isn’t for kids too young (younger than 8). It should be noted that Frankenweenie is written, directed & produced by Tim Burton himself whereas The Nightmare Before Christmas (a great film I love) was only written & produced by Burton but not directed by Burton.

This article cross-posted by me in examiner.com

Comments are closed.

