Brief preview of articles and videos to come of my Banff World Media Festival coverage #banff2012

Four days of Banff World Media Festival 2012 flew by quickly. I braved my huger by skipping a few lunches so I could attend a few more sessions, master classes and meet more people so I can bring you a few reports. Stay tune today and the next few days for more reports and videos to come. I promise my video coverage will be sometimes insightful, sometimes funny, sometimes even a bit shocking, hopefully you will learn something from my four days of #awesome experiences.

Chuck Lorre, King of Comedy (Cybill, Dharma & Greg, Two and a Half Men, and The Big Bang Theory), Glen Mazzara, Showrunner, Writer of AMC hit series The Walking DeadJeanne Beker, Queen of Canadian Fashion TV, Mike Fleiss, creator of The Bachelor franchise, (including The Bachelorette and Bachelor Pad), and Terence Winter, Creator, Writer, Exec producer of HBO hit series Boardwalk Empire are some of the Television Creatives & Luminaries I got to meet, listen, and learn from at #banff2012. I’ve will be posting many videos of these insightful discussions/presentations, some very  extensive.

Chuck Lorre, King of Comedy (Cybill, Dharma & Greg, Two and a Half Men, and The Big Bang Theory)

Glen Mazzara, Showrunner, Writer of AMC hit series The Walking Dead

Jeanne Beker, Queen of Canadian Fashion TV

Mike Fleiss, executive producer of The Bachelor franchise, (including The Bachelorette and Bachelor Pad)

Terence Winter, Creator, Writer, Exec producer of HBO hit series Boardwalk Empire

My good friend the news producer/documentary filmmaker Gingi Baki asked me who is the most interesting person I met at Banff 2012? Tough question! All of the above luminaries could easily top any “interesting” list. After thinking hard for a few moments, I answered that the most interesting person I met in #banff2012 , to me, is Paul Chard, Global Head of Content, MediaCom. I will start my series of Banff 2012 report with an article with video sharing why I think Paul is, again, to me, the most interesting person I met in #banff2012.

#Banff2012 Day 1 - pix 02

P.S. On a personal note, it was my pleasure to report alongside Bill Graveland (Canadian Press), Eric Volmers (Calgary Herald), Etan Vlessing (THR), and George Winslow (Broadcasting & Cable).

I am deeply saddened to hear the passing of Norma Reveler (THR, Ottawa Citizen) via @gregobr I found her #banff2010 article still insightful now following #banff2012 I can now better see why the likes of Netherlands-based Endemol is so creative.

I reported alongside Norma during a few Banff World Media Festivals, in particular 2009 and 2010, and we even had a brief email exchange as I knew she was having chemo and I tried to be supportive. To me, reporters like Norma set the benchmark for bringing insights to news. Norma, I was looking for you during banff 2012, you are missed.

Comments are closed.

