To “Read Before” or “Read After”, that is the question

I have an interesting discussion with my friend DeAno. The main discussion point is this:

Given an upcoming movie, will you read the source material before or after you watch the movie?

Here are my comments:

– Don’t know why I do it but I read a ton of spoilers from the Wikipedia entries for the books some months ago. Fortunately I’ve forgotten most of the details now. :)

P.S. I think it can still be fun even if you know what may come from the books. Many people who watch the Harry Potter films are avid readers of the books and I don’t think their fun was spoiled much.

– Totally see your points in not wanting to know what’s coming next. Very different personal preferences I guess. And Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power Of Introverts has helped me understand why this difference in personal preferences.

Don’t know if you’ve watched these two movies but I loved their trailers so much that I didn’t want to wait for them on screen and ended up borrowing the play & novel to read before I watched the movies on the big screen! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proof_(play) and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Notebook

In contrast, I watched English Patient, loved it so much and ended up getting the book and read it in two days.

Comments are closed.

