Goodbye Steve Jobs (1955 – 2011)

Steve Jobs (1955 - 2011)

Goodbye Steve.

Here is an excerpt from my favourite 2005 Steve’s speech (text),

When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: “If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.” It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

[…] Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs

News media reports: CBCNYTReutersCNNCNet, Bloomberg, The Guardian, THR.

Oct 30, 2011 Update:

* THR, “Steve Jobs’ Sister Recalls the Apple Co-Founder’s Final Words

Mona Simpson, Steve Jobs‘ sister, gave a moving eulogy for the Apple co-founder at the memorial service held on Oct. 16 at the Memorial Church of Stanford University, which the New York Times posted in full.”

Oct 24, 2011 Update:

Sir James Dyson: My ‘Apple Moment’

Steve Jobs, part 1 – 60 Minutes – CBS News

Steve Jobs, part 2 – 60 Minutes – CBS News

Nov 2, 2011 Update:

* Kevin Roberts, “Absence Defines Presence

Jan 27, 2012 Update:

* The Telegraph, “Bill Gates: ‘I wrote Steve Jobs a letter as he was dying. He kept it by his bed’” [HT Apple Insider]

“The atmosphere changed in 2007 when Gates left Microsoft to set up the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation with his wife. “Steve and I did an event together, and he couldn’t have been nicer…I got a fair bit of time with him in his last year. Some months before Jobs died, Gates paid him a long visit. “We spent literally hours reminiscing and talking about the future.” Later, with his old adversary’s death imminent, he wrote to him. “I told Steve about how he should feel great about what he had done and the company he had built. I wrote about his kids, whom I had got to know.”

That last gesture was not, he says, conciliatory. “There was no peace to make. We were not at war. We made great products, and competition was always a positive thing. There was no [cause for] forgiveness.” After Jobs’s death, Gates received a phone call from his wife, Laurene. “She said; ‘Look, this biography really doesn’t paint a picture of the mutual respect you had.’ And she said he’d appreciated my letter and kept it by his bed.””

Comments are closed.

