Technology alone doesn’t solve problems. Social media does not create revolutions. Its a tool. – New Quote I Love

Adding an insightful entry to my list of Quotes I Love and Quotes I Love (videos).

Technology alone doesn’t solve problems. Social media does not create revolutions. Its a tool. Nothing more or less. Real revolutions are born out of righteous anger and courage and vision. […] The issue is not how accurate a bomb is. The issue is what to do the bombs you have. And more importantly, whether to use bombs at all. Technological problems are not the hardest part of the future. They are the easiest part. The hard part are the human problems that accompany the rise of technology.” – Malcolm Gladwel‬l at University of Toronto: Malcolm Gladwell, Convocation 2011 Honorary Degree speech video (starts at about time code 6:38)

CNN Jun 17th, 2011 report “Malcolm Gladwell: When technology fails

Note: As I see more and more power in G+ Hangout as a tool for reporting and researching news, I try to remind myself of ‪Malcolm Gladwel‬l’s cautionary tale of the Norden bombsight. ‪Gladwel‬l reminded us of Facebook’s and Twitter’s magical roles in the revolutions in the middle-east may be over-exaggerated by the creators of these tools.

Comments are closed.

