United Airlines’ “flight check” out the pilot window – Do you feel more or less safe?

United visual flight check - by Grant McCracken

I saw the above photo from my Google+/blog friend Grant McCracken where he felt assured of quality control and flew the plane back to NYC (safely of course).

To me, I actually felt not at all safe when I saw the photo. I wrote, “Visual inspection this far away from the wing or engine, etc? Yikes.” Mind you, if I were Grant, I probably would still had flown the plane. Basically, I would be relying on the fact that if anything goes seriously wrong, the pilot and the crew will go down with me! So the pilots should have, since they do this everyday, made sure the flight is safe before take off.

Of course, sometimes, like today looking at the photo, I do wonder if I am trusting the pilots and crews way too much. Hope not. :)

P.S. By the way, I am liking this Google+ thing. Although I don’t like the idea of surrendering even more of my personal information and private data to Google, which is a US company that is subject to US laws which, when push comes to shove, will likely override Google’s obligations re Canadian privacy law. Oh well, thats for another day.

2 Responses to United Airlines’ “flight check” out the pilot window – Do you feel more or less safe?

  1. Grant says:

    Kempton, thanks for including me! Best, Grant

  2. kempton says:

    Thanks for letting me use your photo. I wish I had a chance to meet you at the 2011 Banff World Media Festival. Hope to see you next year.

