Dropping a laptop from about 30,000 feet to prove a point and sell a product – Ad that you want to watch

Dropping a laptop from about 30,000 feet

Check out Adweek, “Lenovo Takes Product Demo to New Heights – Laptop Dropped From Plane Must Boot Up in 10 Seconds or Parachute Will Not Deploy“.

Good job to the McKinney team. Here is the ad Lenovo “Boot Or Bust” Air Drop.

5 Responses to Dropping a laptop from about 30,000 feet to prove a point and sell a product – Ad that you want to watch

  1. hevangel says:

    I want a fast boot laptop. My laptop takes 30s to 3 mins to boot.

  2. hevangel says:

    I think that video is “fake”. I checked the laptop at Lenovo’s website, it uses a SSD driver, which is an expensive option when you buy the laptop.

  3. kempton says:

    @hevangel With what reason did you think the video a “fake”?

  4. hevangel says:

    “fake” in the sense that you will never get that performance on your own laptop. It’s like when shooting car commercials, they use a super modified car instead of a normal car you get from the store.

  5. kempton says:

    I see. I don’t know what drive they use. Now, SSD drives are more common as I know someone who bought SSD drives a few years ago.

    Anyway, interesting you question the configuration of this airdropped Lenovo. Let me know if you find a link to its exact configuration.

