What happen to a Lovemark when the love was lost?

lovemarks-logo.gif

First of all, I’ve been a long time admirer and reader of Kevin Roberts‘ ideas in advertising, branding, and marketing, all in all, safe to say I’m a big fan of Kevin. Recently, I found it very cool that Kevin’s idea of Lovemark has gained acceptance in business schools that even my neighbour’s university marketing class is teaching the concept of Lovemark! It puts a big smile on my face to think that I was responsible in creating the first Wikipedia entry for Lovemark when Kevin’s book first came out in 2006 (yes, time flies and that was 5 years ago)!

Love Lost

Back to the reason for writing this article. I want to bring up the important question of “What happen to a Lovemark when the love was lost?

Part of me understand why Kevin hasn’t talked much about love lost in the two Lovemark books or in his writing. After all, it is more engaging & positive to focus on the good and inspiring. Also, it is probably bad business to talk about “love lost” when trying to sell to clients.

So I guess it is up to independent “practitioners” of Lovemarks, like myself, to try to point out that it can’t be all love all the time! As with any “meaningful love“, there has to be risk of love lost, or cases where love was actually lost. I think it is important for each of us, if not collectively, to keep a list of Lovemarks that are no longer loved.

In my list of admired companies, you will see Apple Computer and Lexus had been removed and are no longer on my list of Lovemarks. I know I will have more Lovemarks in the future, and I also realized that it is unrealistic to ignore love lost.

In memory of the love lost

Here is “Love Lost” by The Temper Trap.

Here is the lyrics of Love Lost. If you read it or listen to the song beyond the title, I think it actually contains a message of hope.

Our love was lost
But now we’ve found it
Our love was lost
And hope was gone

Our love was lost
But now we’ve found it
And if you flash your heart
I won’t deny it
I promise

I promise

Your walls are up
Too cold to touch it
Your walls are up
Too high to climb

I know it’s hard
But I can still hear it beating
So if you flash your heart

I won’t mistreat it

I promise

I promise

Our love was lost
In the rubble are all the things
That you’ve, you’ve been dreaming of
Keep me in mind
When you’re ready
I am here
To take you every time

Oh our love was lost
Lost, lost, lost, lost….
Our love was lost
But now its found

2 Responses to What happen to a Lovemark when the love was lost?

  1. yolanda says:

    hi, I do like ypur ideas, I do strongly think a lovemark is more than business, a lovemark hás soul, myself i did founded a PR agency big one in Spain Barcelona and Madrid many years ago Equipo Singular and now I,m preparing the launch of Spirits of Hanoi, pretending to be a fashion responsible lovemark, the goal to sep up a children hospital North of Vietnam, I do have a vietnamienne daughter and the second is on the way. Soul, love and care and a huge collaboration with spanish designers that love the project. Don t you think we do hace some ingredients for the lovemark?

  2. kempton says:

    I think Lovemarks are matured or evolved over time. With continuing love from customers, some brands can and do become Lovemarks. In this article, I try to point out that sometime, former Lovemarks need to be “delisted”/”removed” or else all other deserving Lovemarks got cheapened.

