Interesting articles: Disney withdraws ‘Seal Team 6’ trademark app, PaylPal vs. Google, James Cameron 3D Michael Bay, Kristin Scott Thomas

* THR, “Disney Withdraws Application to Trademark ‘Seal Team 6’

* CNN Money, “PayPal vs. Google: A timeline of ‘stolen’ secrets

* THR, “Michael Bay Reveals James Cameron’s Secret Role in the Making of ‘Transformers’

* UK Guardian, “Kristin Scott Thomas: ‘It’s the most amazing feeling of liberation’

“”I was used to cinema questions – you know, ‘what’s it like to work with Robert Redford?’, all that kind of nonsense. I didn’t like that. I didn’t like the way people approached me after films, with this image in mind, made to look perfect through a beautiful lens, my hair blowing in the wind, perfect shade of lipstick, all huge and magnified. People would be scared of that idea. I could see it in them. But the great thing about doing theatre is that people just see you as human, not this vast image. You know my mascara is down here, and my nose is running. No tricks. I really wanted that.”

Having established herself in particular in The English Patient and Four Weddings and a Funeral as a kind of inaccessible beauty, did she discover a new way to connect?

“It is just that. I’m sort of liberated from expectation.” She smiles with perfect symmetry, then pauses for a moment. “Although not so much in this play… I feel I have a hell of a lot to live up to, as usual.”

[…] She always used to be a dreamer as a child, “always on planet Kristin, miles away, dreaming about running down Normandy beaches into the arms of Monsieur Whoever.” What, at 51, does she daydream about now?

“I often have fantasies about giving up and going off and doing something completely different. Go and join a community and wear an orange robe and live on a hill and watch the sun set, that sort of thing.”

Would she be good at that, at being alone with her thoughts?

“I think I could,” she says. “It’s the kind of thing I fantasise about when looking out of a train window, anyway. But I like to be busy, too.” She thinks about that for a moment, and then, after a brief pause, she heads back to work.”

Comments are closed.

