“Waiting for Superman” and “Race to Nowhere”: Watch them!

I wish I have more time to review/write about “Waiting for Superman” and “Race to Nowhere“, two documentaries about the many problems in US public and private education. While I don’t agree with everything said in both films, I am sure Canadians can learn and apply a few of the lessons in Canada.

I urge you to watch one or both films and make up your own mind.

Waiting for Superman Trailer

Race to Nowhere Trailer

P.S. For the record, I did some preliminary research/reading in Dec 2010 and started capturing some links but just never found the time (and inspiration) to write up something. Anyway, the following are some of the links I collected. Note: I don’t necessary agree with some of the views expressed in them.

– Calgary Waldorf School – Calgary Board of Education board meeting minutes

Thomas Friedman’s review of “Waiting for Superman”

– John Merrow “MOVIE REVIEW: Waiting for Superman”

– John Merrow, PBS education correspondent review “‘Race to Nowhere:’ It’s no ‘Waiting for ‘Superman’, ‘ but it’s Honest

– Waiting for Superman: Don’t look for easy answers the film implies, panel of educators says

– Blue School founders (letter from founders)

– Stop Homework – and the Japan’s comment

– Denise Clark Pope’s “Doing School” excerpt (Denis’ Stanford faculty contact info)

– Challenge Success (a project of the Stanford University School of Education)

4 Responses to “Waiting for Superman” and “Race to Nowhere”: Watch them!

  1. hevangel says:

    My answer to “Waiting for Superman”

    What about the role of parents? What makes a great school? Not smart kids, not super teachers, it is the parents who cares about their kids’ education!

    My answer to “Race to Nowhere”

    Bring back the public exam will solve the problem. The real smart kids can get good marks in public exam without spending too much effort and have time to enjoy their life.

  2. kempton says:

    Did you make the comments after you’ve watched both films in full? Or just the trailers?

  3. kempton says:

    The films are not “perfect” but both are good films and worth watching. You may have different views and comments after you got a chance to watch them.

    P.S. I wish I had more time to comment on the two films and the crazy HK education system and prep schools (補習天王/天后).

