Armen Alchian

I finally finished the 19-page book chapter “In Celebration of Armen Alchian’s Eightieth Birthday” from “Uncertainty and Economic Evolution: Essays in Honor of Armen A. Alchian”.

I have read about Prof. Alchian for many years from his famous Chinese Ph.D. student Prof. Steven N. S. Cheung. So it is really nice to read from other prospective.

I was particularly touched by this quote in “In Celebration“,

Armen is an extremely clever man, but I count as one of the great virtues of his work that it contains no cleverness for the sake of being clever.

Here is Alchian’s insightful article about Property Rights.

*******

Apr 24, 2008 Update: Here is an hour long audio interview of Alchian, “The Intellectual Portrait Series: A Conversation with Armen A. Alchian (2000)” at The Online Library of Liberty [Hat Tip: Gary & Josh]

2 Responses to Armen Alchian

  1. […] teacher and I’ve read many stories about Armen. So it was my great pleasure when I finally found this insightful hour-long audio interview of Alchian, “The Intellectual Portrait Series: A […]

  2. […] fishery, irrigation system). Elinor also studied Economics with Armen Alchian and others. (Extra reading material on […]

