Interview with Olivia Cheng about the film “Iris Chang: The Rape of Nanking”

I had a very enjoyable and illuminating phone interview with Olivia Cheng, the lead actress of the documentary “IRIS CHANG: The Rape of Nanking“. There are lots of interesting details of how Olivia came to know about Iris Chang (張純如) as early as 1997 (which was 10 years before she played the role of Iris in the documentary) and the extensive research that Olivia done to get to know more about Iris (years before she was to play the role of Iris).

I hope you will get a better sense of Olivia as a person and as an actress (see her imdb entry for her other works).

Now, without further delay, here is my audio interview with Canadian actress Olivia Cheng (in mp3) (also available in streaming audio and other formats) to talk about the documentary film “IRIS CHANG: The Rape of Nanking“.

You can read more about Olivia in my earlier blog entry and more news about Olivia and the movie here,

  1. Olivia Cheng lands dream role
  2. Nanking horror relived in film: Doc exposes Japanese atrocity in China

P.S. After I turned off the recorder, I had a few minutes chat with Olivia. I sensed the eagerness in her voices to try and learn new things (she mentioned that she is going to update her website, I shared with her my 2 cents). As I mentioned in the interview, “Chances favoured the prepared minds.” And Olivia quoted, “Success is preparation meets opportunity.”

Olivia, let me wish you the best of luck in your career. With your eagerness to learn and willingness to work hard, I am sure these qualities will serve you well.

4 Responses to Interview with Olivia Cheng about the film “Iris Chang: The Rape of Nanking”

  1. Tim Larson says:

    Dear Kempton,
    Do you know what project(s) Olivia is working on these days? Thanks Tim

  2. kempton says:

    Sorry Tim, I have no idea. And for some reason, the content in Olivia’s personal site are no longer there.

  3. Tim Larson says:

    Thanks for checking. Tim

