Raja Amehd – My friend, former colleague, big brother, and mentor

I’ve known Raja Amehd for over 15 years now. Raja was a seasoned software engineer when he joined MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates (MDA) a few months after I joined MDA as a fresh Computer Science grad from U of Toronto. We were working in different teams within the Transport Canada’s Air Traffic Control project — the Canadian Automated Air Traffic System (CAATS). You see, every time you fly in Canada (and parts of US), your plane is monitored and controlled/guided by an Air Traffic Controller using CAATS.

When Raja and I first met, he had already worked on various large scale software projects (including, I think, safety critical software related to the safe shutdown of the Darlington Nuclear Generating Station). And Raja was always very helpful in sharing his insights in software design and development and also about my personal career growth and development.

To me, I see Raja as not only my former colleague, he is also my friend, my big brother, and my mentor. I got Raja’s advice when I changed job to come to Calgary, and Raja wrote me a great business-school recommendation letter that made me blush (OK, I was good, but I don’t think I was that good! Big smile.)

In life, there are rare true and insightful friends that I am willing to go to the end of the earth singing praise and defending. Raja is one of those true friends.

So it is my great pleasure to share with you that after years of working for some big corporations (MDA, Rational, IBM, etc.) utilizing the most advanced and cutting edge best practices on earth, Raja has started his own company to share his great expertises — Agnetio Business Solutions. The web page is still being developed but the bright and insightful man behind this business is the same man that I’ve come to know and trust for the last 15 years.

Raja now works as a subcontractor for the Office of the CIO at the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) helping the urgently needed redefinition and redesigning of the USPTO information system. With my own extensive use of the USPTO Patent database, I am sure I will be greatly benefited from a much improved USPTO Patent Database. (By the way, I pointed out to Raja that Google Patent Search is doing a great job and making USPTO’s own offerings look rather lame and weak.)

You can find out more of what Raja’s company does from Agnetio Business Solutions. Raja, I wish you all the best in your new business and I am hoping one of your new business/consulting engagement will bring you out for a visit to Calgary. Or one of my business engagement to Maryland to visit you and your family.

Comments are closed.

