BWTVF: Master Class : Antony Thomas, Director of documentaries “Death of a Princess” and “The Tank Man”

Wow, I just can’t believe how lucky I was to attend Antony Thomas‘ master class at Banff World TV Festival 2007. Antony, an award winning documentarian with over 40 documentaries and dramas to his credit, was extremely candid and insightful in his class. And Antony, Elizabeth Klinck (Antony’s researcher in many films) and I had a great chat over wine after the class.

By “coincident”, it just happened that on June 4th this year, I posted two entries on my blog and one of them featured a picture of the Tank Man. The same man featured in Antony’s documentary. I am “lucky” again that Tank Man deals with the same time period (within weeks) of the life changing event in my documentary idea “Egging Chairman Mao“. Egging is a doc about three young-men who threw paint-filled eggs on the portrait of Mao Zedong (Chairman Mao) that hangs over Tiananmen Square in Beijing days before the shockingly sad events in 1989. And the impact on these three men lives.

I was overjoyed, and I gave Antony a hug, when he told me he is willing to try to help me early next year on “Egging Chairman Mao“. I am extremely grateful to Antony’s genuine interest and willingness to help me.

Here are two video clips and I will add more later with more comments in a separate entry.

(June 5th, 2016 update: The old Google videos are gone now. So I pulled the six videos from the other entry here.)

2 Responses to BWTVF: Master Class : Antony Thomas, Director of documentaries “Death of a Princess” and “The Tank Man”

  1. marie natanson says:

    Hi Kempton,
    good for you for doing this. Please keep me in the loop with any further clips.
    am a big fan of Antony’s.
    best
    Marie
    *******
    Hi Marie,
    Thanks for your feedback. Your comment has prompted me to post a new entry with two new videos and a link that point to all six videos of Antony. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.
    Kempton

  2. […] Thomas‘ master class at Banff World TV Festival 2007 still resonate with me today. Here is a clip from “The Tank Man” as Antony watches it with the […]

