Wikipedia 維基百科

I’ve been writing a Chinese column about “user generated media” (自製傳媒) for a local Calgary newspaper since last December. For the May issue, I talk about Wikipedia (維基百科). It is written for the general audience. If you can read Chinese, I hope you will enjoy it.

*******

Wikipedia 維基百科
大英百科全書(Encyclopedia Britannica) 相信大家都聽過,亦知道它的權威地位。那你有聽過維基百科 (Wikipedia)是甚麼呢?它就是現時在網上最常用的百科全書。

維基百科現時已有七百二十萬篇文章,用世上二百五十一種文字寫成。而中文百科文章亦有十一萬篇。相對於英語的一百七十萬篇。

我認為維基百科最成功的地方是它是一本「人人可編輯」的百科全書。「人人可編輯」? 初初聽下來會覺得不可想像!這跟像小學生都可以任意地改寫他們的教科書或大學課本有分別嗎?其實某些維基文章是經常被沒有公德心的人去破壞的,但亦有一些 有心的維基愛好者去幫它義務清理不同的破壞。例如現任美國總統 Bush 的百科文章便常被破壞了。

「人人可編輯」便即是任何人都可以用一點心思去改進百科文章,甚至增加新的文章。我自己便花了點時間增寫了三篇全新的維基百科文章。同時亦改進了二十四篇文章。有時是很小的一些毛病,很快便改完。有時是要我花點時間做資料收集和分析才可以有根有據地改進百科文章。

維基百科有五個支柱 (Five Pillars)。其中之一是文章的中立性 (Neutral Point of View),百科文章中常有些有爭議性的題目,而維基的編輯是不應幫任何一方而丟失維基的中立性。另一個支持是維基的內容是全免費的,任何人只要達到維基 的基本要求,便可以用維基的內容,甚至是用來寫一部新的維基相類似的百科全書。

有時間的話,讀者何不到維基網址 (英文版) http.//en.wikipedia.org 或 (中文版) http://zh.wikipedia.org 看看或改進一兩篇文章呢?

2 Responses to Wikipedia 維基百科

  1. Mark says:

    This is really interesting to me. I had no idea you could write Chinese. If you don’t mind me asking, where did you learn? Your use of 有 as a past tense marker in “你有聽過” seems very Taiwanese, but on the other hand, Taiwanese nearly always say 兩百 instead of 二百. Sorry if it’s off-topic. I’m a language geek, and I can’t help but ask.

    BTW, for the disputed topics, Wiki just explains that there is a dispute, and cites examples of it.
    *******
    Hi Mark,

    Well, I can write Chinese indeed but I only started writing long Chinese article again recently. I used to edit my University’s Chinese newspaper. Which shows how much my Chinese has deteriorated by lack of use.

    Anyway, my article is meant for the general audiences and I do try my best (but not always successful) in shedding light on a new topics that is less well known to the local readers of our little Chinese newspaper.

    Now, I started posting the articles recently to try to get the maximum bang for the bug.

    Lastly, sorry that I am not much of a language geek and I do used the wrong Chinese words sometime. For me, my kick and main fun was in sharing my insight in the main areas and not quite getting every words right. I hope you are not trying to learn Chinese by reading my Chinese articles. There are many better authors to learn Chinese from.

    I do hope you had some fun and gained some insight on the subject matters by reading my Chinese articles.

    Best Regards,
    Kempton

  2. Mark says:

    I’m in Taiwan myself, so I’m certainly not going to complain about your “wrong” use of 有. Pretty much anybody who speaks 閩南話 (which is about everyone in Taiwan) talks that way. I was just trying to see where you were from.

