Starfish and Spider

My friend Austin recommended The Starfish and The Spider to me sometime ago. And I finally got my library copy a few days ago and finished it in no time. It is a highly readable book. Here is an excerpt of the book descriptions (emphasis mine),

If you cut off a spider’s leg, it’s crippled; if you cut off its head, it dies. But if you cut off a starfish’s leg it grows a new one, and the old leg can grow into an entirely new starfish.

What’s the hidden power behind the success of Wikipedia, craigslist, and Skype? What do eBay and General Electric have in common with the abolitionist and women’s rights movements? What fundamental choice put General Motors and Toyota on vastly different paths? [K: I particular enjoy the little part about GM and Toyota.] How could winning a Supreme Court case be the biggest mistake MGM could have made?

An insightful book, highly recommended.

P.S. I wish the Starfish authors had  better websites or blogs (may be I’ve been spoiled by the Freakonomics authors). But they do have a sample chapter one online for marketing purpose.

Comments are closed.

