The day I started blogging

flower-and-bee.jpg
(Originally posted on July 29, 2006.)

I have been busier than a busy bee today. I finally created a website for myself (writing the copy, picking some photos from my collection, reworking the text and photos a few times, etc.)!

I also started exploring the world of blogging more seriously thanks to Sean Wise’s suggestion. I have started reading blogs by a few insightful people from around the world and learning from them. I am serious enough to start blogging! This is where my blogging journey starts.

I started by reading and commenting on blogs written by three interesting people – Guy Kawasaki (I love his approach and thinking since his Apple days), Peter Rip and Tom Evslin.

Guy Kawasaki starts with a catchy blog title and claims that Majora Carter gives presentation “as good as Steve Jobs”. How can I not check it out?!! And I was not disappointed because Guy proceeded to give a detailed explanation of what he learned from Majora. I agree with Guy essentially and I even left a comment there.

Next off, Peter Rip shared his story and shed some light on the process of how venture capitalists (VCs) will work with entrepreneurs. He reminds us that sometimes the VCs are more interested in working with each others than promoting the interests of the entrepreneurs.

Then I came across Tom Evslin’s discussion on “Capitalism and Externalities”. Incidentally, Tom conceived, launched, and ran AT & T WorldNet Services which popularized the “all-you-can-eat” flat rate monthly pricing for Internet access. Anyway, I found the blog interesting but may be missing something on Tom’s discussion on externalities, so I left a comment and shared my limited understanding on Coase Theorem.

Finally, thanks for bearing with me on my first attempt at blogging. Not that you can hold me to this, but I’ll write about entrepreneurship, documentaries & TV productions, innovation, Dragons’ Den, photography and movies.

A warning that I borrowed from Guy’s first blog entry, “From time to time, I will also discuss things that I do not “know,” but I’ve never let ignorance get in the way of expressing an opinion–and clearly, very few bloggers do! So let the good times roll…”

Written at Calgary, Canada

4 Responses to The day I started blogging

  1. Guy Kawasaki says:

    Thanks for the kind words! Go Flames!

    Guy

  2. kempton says:

    Guy,

    You truly made my day by leaving a comment on my brand new WordPress blog. It is so cool to have you, the great Guy Kawasaki left the symbolic *first* comment. I have been a big fan of yours for 14 years now (since I first read your book “The Machintosh Way”).

    Thanks for the kind words on the Flames. We were so good the year before the lock-out. We simply sucked this last season. The way we lost that last game just killed me. They played some of their regular season games better than that important last game. Still, go Flames!

    Feel free to leave other comments and critique. I am fine tuning my blog with much help from your previous postings (e.g.”The First 100 Days: Observations of a Nouveau Blogger” and “The 120 Day Wonder: How to Evangelize a Blog”).

    Cheers,
    Kempton
    P.S. I aspire to write my blog with claris. (note: “Claris is Latin for ‘clarity’ “)
    Let me share a story with the readers of this blog. Over the Xmas holiday of 1992, I was fortunate to read a great book written by a wise man. And I’ve learned so much and really enjoyed reading it.

    Now 14 years later, just to show that this already “yellowed” old book stood the test of time, let me quote a passage in the Evangelism section. I loved and highlighted this 14 years ago,

    “2. Let a thousand flowers bloom. When you evangelize people, let a thousand flowers bloom. Don’t close down opportunities for unknown people or small companies by concentrating on the obvious and established ones.
    […]
    For example, one day in 1984 Paul Brainerd, the president of Aldus, showed up at Apple and demonstrated PageMaker to Bruce Blumberg, the product manager of LaserWriter. The day before, no one at Apple had heard of desktop publishing or page composition. Aldus was a little seedling that grew into a big tree.”

  3. […] “This is the highlight of my day. I hope it is not all downhill from here. I first have to say that I would like to thank Sean Wise for his encouragement for my continual comments and Armchair Dragoning on the Dragons’ Den website. It has been a lot of fun. Sean also encouraged me to read many many blogs. And as a result, I created my own blog. Which is at its 2.0 version now. Sean Wise, wherever you are, Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! To my friends for pointing out my worst qualities. I know you do it because you love me. And Mom and Dad, I don’t care what they say about bringing your parents to awards shows, I will always bring you to awards shows cause I’m proud of you and I love you. And Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!” […]

  4. […] Wow, I still can’t believe I am writing my 2,001 blog entry after starting my blog on July 29th, 2006. […]

