Google Translate (English-Chinese)

I have been using the machine translator Google Translate for English <==> Chinese translation for the last few years. While many of the translated text are still laughably bad and cannot/should not be trusted blindly, some of the results have improved significantly. Some of the results are “useable” now if you just need a “quick and rough” translation and don’t have time nor money for more professional help.

One thing I am impressed with is Google Translate‘s ability to pronounce almost fluent Chinese (Mandarin dialect) (the “Listen” tool). Trust me, I don’t get impressed easily but I think the Google Translate development team has done a professional job with the pronunciation. How good is it? I think its pronunciation is good enough to help some beginners to improve their Mandarin speaking skills. It is free and worth giving it a try.

Here is a YouTube video explaining an olded version of Google Translate in case you find it helpful.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

