2008 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism

Here is a link to the list of 2008 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism winners (and their work). The following are a few of my favourite reports. [via Richard Sambrook]

* PUBLIC SERVICE

THE WASHINGTON POST

The Post was honored for a series of articles that exposed the mistreatment of wounded veterans at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington. [...]

* NATIONAL REPORTING: JO BECKER and BARTON GELLMAN
For articles in the Washington Post documenting the power and secrecy wielded by Vice President Dick Cheney.

* FEATURE WRITING: GENE WEINGARTEN [K: A very lovely piece that I blogged about last year.]
For an article in the Washington Post on a world-famous violinist playing incognito for subway riders.

* EXPLANATORY REPORTING: AMY HARMON
For a series in The New York Times exploring the impact of new genetic technology on American life.

2 Responses to 2008 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism

  1. Hello,

    I think you should check the facts of the story as to whether the marvellous National Art Centre of Canada violinist, did this feat first. As well there were 2 others who played in other town in Canada, that participated.

    I note that she, he, and I can’t remember collected about 50 bucks between them, with the sax (?) player getting about 22 bucks out of Winnipeg (HUH!) and the guitarist (?) collecting about 18 bucks out of Calgary. The wonderous violist on Kent St, got almost 10 bucks out of busy civil servants who had more important things to do that to listen to music.

    The point of point though is that the Washington Post might have posted a local story as a first I guess for just the US.

    But I also that in Europe most musician’s play outdoors for fun and enjoyment for themselves, and then the awed people around them.

    I realize Joseph Pullitzer may have confined his awards to the continental USA, but please don’t reward a first for a second, in my opinion.

    Of course I could be wrong on my memory and I did not do any fact checking but I remember the story in Canada. It was pathetic to me.

    Qiuestion for you: how much money did the musician collect in the US, for work in the US? Do you know? I might.

    Best regards,
    Lawrence Lean

  2. kempton says:

    Hi Lawrence,

    Thanks for your feedback. I wonder if you have a link to the article(s) about the Canadian musicians.

    I can’t speak for others but I was touched by that WaPo story and the accompanying videos. And to be fair, I think you will agree with me that journalists can cover the same stories but their end products may not be of equality.

    I have nothing against Canadian stories (I am also a Canadian) but I have trouble thinking we are better simply because we write about some idea first. (smile)

    As for the money the US musician collected, I think it was mentioned in the article (see the above link) but since I read it 12 months ago, I don’t remember.

    Cheers,
    Kempton

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

