Coffee with John Bristowe (Developer Evangelist, Microsoft)

I met John Bristowe (Developer Evangelist, Microsoft) for the first time at the Calgary Demo Camp 2. Although I am not a big fan of Microsoft, in recent years at least and especially the corporate actions, I found John’s technical comments and questions at the Demo Camp insightful. And he is willing to take punches on behave of Microsoft. (smile) Plus it seems the entrepreneurs demoing the products also appreciated John’s insights as well.

So it was my great pleasure to meet John again this morning to chat and for me to get to know more about some cool Microsoft technologies. By the way, I let John know that it will take some time for him or anyone from Microsoft to convince me or others that Microsoft means well and can be “cool”.

Incidentally, I didn’t tell John this but I used to be a big fan of Microsoft and Bill Gates but somewhere along the way MSFT and Bill lost me. You see, I read and enjoyed Julie Bick’s “All I really need to know in business I learned at Microsoft” (1997) and also “the microsoft edge: insider strategies for building success” (2000) (which I started but never finished). And I read and really really love “Hard Drive: Bill Gates and the Making of the Microsoft Empire” (1992), “Gates : How Microsoft’s Mogul Reinvented an Industry–and Made Himself the Richest Man in America” (1993), and “Overdrive: Bill Gates and the Race to Control Cyberspace (1997). How Microsoft and Bill lost me will be another long story for another day.

Now, here is a video of John demoing Microsoft’s Popfly (using Virtual Earth) live at a Starbucks using its wireless internet.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

